Go to University of Chicago Medicine Home

Improving the Doctor-Patient Relationship
through Patient Care, Teaching and Research.

Alumni & International Scholars

Physicians around the globe are committed to the doctor-patient relationship and excellent clinical care. In 2017, the Bucksbaum Institute established an International Scholar Program. Every one or two years, the Bucksbaum Institute will recognize one physician who has demonstrated expertise in the doctor-patient relationship, shared decision-making, and other issues that are central to the Institute’s mission by appointing him/her as a Bucksbaum Institute International Scholar. This senior-level/master clinician will work with the Bucksbaum Institute on a collaborative initiative, as well as participate in a summer program in Chicago.

2017 International Faculty Scholar
SDr. Ranjana Srivastava OAM

Dr. Ranjana Srivastava OAM, was educated in India, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Australia. She graduated from Monash University with a first-class honors degree and several awards in medicine. Dr. Srivastava undertook her internship, residency and specialist training at various Melbourne hospitals.

In 2004, Dr. Srivastava won the prestigious Fulbright Award, which she completed at the University of Chicago. She was admitted as a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians in 2005 and started practicing oncology in the public hospital system. In 2014, Ranjana was recognized by Monash University as the Distinguished Alumni of the Year. She was also appointed an adjunct associate professor in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. Ranjana was included in Westpac’s 100 Influential Women of 2015.

In 2017, Dr. Srivastava was bestowed with the Order of Australia (OAM) for her work and service to medicine, particularly in the field of doctor-patient communication. The Order of Australia is the principal and most prestigious means of recognizing
outstanding members of the community at a national level; the honor was established in 1975 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.