Go to University of Chicago Medicine Home


Neil Hyman, MD

Neil Hyman, MD

2015 Master Clinicians

Dr. Hyman received his BA from the University of Pennsylvania in 1980 and his M.D. from the University of Vermont College of Medicine in 1984. He completed his surgical internship and residency at the Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York, New York, and his colon and rectal fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation in Cleveland, Ohio.

Dr. Hyman is currently Professor of Surgery, Chief of the Section of Colon and Rectal Surgery and Codirector of the Center for Digestive Diseases at the University of Chicago Medicine. He has authored more than 175 peer-reviewed original articles or textbook chapters.

Dr. Hyman serves on many regional and national committees, and is a member of numerous national organizations and societies. He has been President of the Vermont Chapter of the American College of Surgeons, Associate Editor of Diseases of the Colon and Rectum, Principle Investigator of the New England and Vermont Colorectal Cancer Quality Project, and Chairman of the Standards Committee of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. He is Treasurer of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons and its Research Foundation, serves on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery, is a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery and Chairs the ACS Advisory Council for Colon and Rectal Surgery.

He is the recipient of many teaching awards including Clinical Teacher of the Year, University of Vermont, College of Medicine 1993/94, 1994/95 and 1997/98. He has received the Jerome S. Abrams Teaching Award in 1992/93, 1993/94 and 1997/98, the Howe Outstanding Surgery Faculty Award 2000/2001, 2004/2005, 2010/2011 and the Humanism in Medicine Award, University of Vermont, College of Medicine 2001/02. He was designated as Teacher of the Year by the Chief Surgical Residents in 1991, 2007, 2009 and 2014 at UVM, and at the University of Chicago where he received the Robert Baker Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2015.

In 2005, he delivered the Commencement Address at the UVM College of Medicine graduation, was voted as Physician of the Year by the Vermont State Medical Society in 2011, and received the Distinguished Academic Achievement Award from the Alumni Association of the University of Vermont College of Medicine in 2014.